Looks good on paper…

Home » academia » Applications

Applications

I suppose it’s been a while since I did my university applications. And in the UK, UCAS makes everything a lot simpler; you fill out the form, write a short personal statement, job done. The US applications were a little lengthier, and the financial process more complex, but it didn’t seem too bad.

Now my grad school applications seem to take it to another level. I’ll be applying for funding from several places, but particularly the AHRC. So while my reference writers will have to write and upload a reference online for some of my applications, then print two copies on out letterhead paper for my other (Cambridge, whose online application system seems to be horribly broken, so I’ll be doing it by mail, I guess), then print more copies for scholarship applications… It seems that I’m not the only one who’s going to be put through the mill a bit this autumn. I feel sorry for my professors already.

Leave a Reply

