Looks good on paper…

Home » sex and gender » You didn’t think I wouldn’t have something to say…

You didn’t think I wouldn’t have something to say…

… about this, did you?

It’s being talked about all over the place (NYT, for example), and I’m sure you’ve all seen it already, but if you haven’t, it’s Dating a Banker Anonymous. My first two thoughts when a friend pointed me towards it?

Bonfire of the Vanities (Tom Wolfe, very amusing) and the fair-weather wife, and The Razor’s Edge (Maugham, much adored) and, well, the not-so-fair-weather, but certainly bitchy wife. And that about sums up the DABA blog. I think that some of it’s in jest (we live in hope, don’t we?), but other posts obviously aren’t. A particularly hilarious quote?

I’ve seen some negative responses to your blog and I think they’re all transparent douche-bags.

The irony should be obvious when it comes from a blog written for and by women more interested in bottle service and Manolos than anything else.

My mother’s response was the best of all, I think:

Oh my God…just imagine what it must be like to be sooooo vacuous!!  We can only dream of such emptiness – thank God!  I did a book proposal review for [a university press] last week and took payment in Feminist texts instead of money.

There are some things in life that money can’t buy. The hilarity of the DABA blog and the responses from actual grown-up women are some of those things!

Yet still, one has to ask: What is the world coming to???

Leave a Reply

