Looks good on paper…

Home » academia » Coursera » Poetry close reading

Poetry close reading

Today I am juggling Coursera and my MA thesis.

With my MA, I am in the process of reading printed versions of each chapter and making amendments that I will then type up of an evening when I am only capable of more mechanical activity! Coursera and the Modern Poetry course are providing a tempting distraction, however. Assignment 1 is a ~500 word close reading of Emily Dickinson’s ‘I taste a liquor never brewed’.

Close reading is really what I love the most about studying literature, and is a form of creative writing all to itself (in my view). However, as my MA is very focused on gender identity and C19 politics, I dont’ get to do as much of it as I would like, and as a general rule close reading of poetry seems to be the very last level of my writing of longer work. So, I am very tempted by this assignment, rather than fretting over restructuring a 3,000 word chapter or finding the right page numbers for secondary source citations.

Of course, once this assignment is done, in only a few hours time some new lectures by Professor Filreis will be available to watch, and then the Greek Mythology course has finally opened its course website, so once I am on the Coursera website, there’ll be plenty more for me to do there, rather than on paper here!

I will have to try to restrain myself.

EDIT: I lied. Even though the Coursera website shows a ‘Go to Class’ button, there is no Greek Mythology website. I fear that the staff for this class might be even less well engaged with Coursera and the students than Fantasy/Scifi. Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

