Looks good on paper…

Home » academia » MA » MA writing motivation

MA writing motivation

My job may have gone into overdrive with the start of October, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to have any space to ease off with my dissertation writing.

Although we have no more formal tutorials or assignments to complete (barring final submission), my tutor is setting up some one-to-ones in the margins of a social event for our group. This will be very nice, as one of the problems of evening study without much need for class/on-campus time is that there is no real community of grad students, so unless you go out of your way to find it, you are very much on your own. Good practice for academia, perhaps, but isn’t there time enough for loneliness?!

My tutor is fairly undemanding (I am by far the least ‘troublesome’ of her students), so I am sure that if I simply sent her my second chapter, which is more or less done, she would be happy enough. I have volunteered my third chapter to her, however (or promised to do so), in part to motivate myself. Of course, it is a 5,000 word chapter that I haven’t started writing yet. It’s not due for four weeks, so that gives me plenty of time to get myself in gear!

Leave a Reply

