Looks good on paper…

Home » media studies » art » A nice weekend!

A nice weekend!

This week has been very hectic! I’m travelling for work on Monday, and then have two very busy days on Tuesday and Wednesday, so I’ll probably be in a grumpy mood by the end of next Wednesday too. Still, I’m trying to have a nice, quiet, productive weekend.

So far, I’ve managed to: fill out my tax return (it’ll be in by the deadline — woohoo!); finish reading Florence Marryat’s The Blood of the Vampire; do some successful shopping for work clothes (I tried last weekend and succeeded in buying a coat and bag that were not strictly necessary); and make some progress on Chapter 3 of my dissertation (it was starting to get worrying!).

Unfortunately, I’ve not managed to keep up with Introduction to Genetics (post here), or do much critiquing on Scribophile (post here). I think I do fill my life up slightly too much though, and I may have to strip back some of my activity, at least until the MA dissertation is out of the way. One of my colleagues, on learning that I was doing my dissertation, did let out a plaintive wail along the lines of: ‘But how do you find the time?’ Evidently, I’m often not….

I’m going to try to get to the British Museum this weekend, which apparently has some Goya on offer (as well as a Shakespeare exhibit, although I’m a bit put off by the fact that it’s funded by BP)! I’ve still not made it to the Tate Britain to see the Pre-Raphaelite exhibit, but I really am planning to. Fingers crossed, anyway….

EDIT: Liverpool University’s Paranoia Pain blog has a quick post on Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s The Beloved, currently at the Tate Britain exhibition. I absolutely need to get myself in gear and get over there!

Leave a Reply

