Looks good on paper…

Home » media studies » film and TV » Shakespeare on film

Shakespeare on film

I have been to see Shakespeare at the Globe – or otherwise in the theatre – a few times. I am at times sceptical because, in the grand scheme of things, I prefer to read plays rather than watch them. I am even more divided about Shakespeare on TV or film, though.

I found the DiCaprio/Danes Romeo + Juliet cloying and tiresome. I wanted to love the David Tennant/Patrick Stewart Hamlet, but just didn’t. I did enjoy the Anthony Hopkins Titus and the Ian Holm King Lear, but I fear this may have had more to do with the absolutely fantastic grad student who ran a weekly film screening as part of one of my Shakespeare courses at uni.

I am going to have a go with PBS’ Ian McKellen King Lear, however. I haven’t quite found the time for it yet, but I am planning to! I’ll recommend it on the off-chance, anyway. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

