Looks good on paper…

Home » literature » Discovering new authors

Discovering new authors

One thing I love is that I am so often stumbling onto new authors whose works I haven’t read before, and with each one I get to enrich and embellish my picture of what it means to read, study and think about ‘Victorian literature’.

Over the last year or two, I have embraced a number of “new” authors: Florence Marryat and The Blood of the Vampire (found via Victorian Secrets’ Kindle edition and an interesting write-up by Catherine Pope), George Gissing (found via a friend’s dad’s recommendation), and now Catherine Crowe (via a tweet by Victorian Circle and a post there by Marcus Ballenger). 

I’m looking forward to Marcus’ future posts about Crowe’s work, but first I shall get me to Amazon and Valancourt Books to find some of her work to read for myself.

Leave a Reply

