Looks good on paper…

Home » science » health and wellbeing » fitness » A week is a long time in running… (22/8/16)

A week is a long time in running… (22/8/16)

This week did not go to plan.

The plan was:

Day Target Distance Actual Distance Time Pace
 16 August  3.2km  3.2km  19:23  5:56/km
 17 August  21.2km  14.4km  1:17:37  5:23/km
 19 August (20 August)  5.0km (with drills)  5.2km 30:59 5:54/km
 21 August 6.4km (with fartleks)  –
 Total  35.4km  22.8km

I’m not sure why, but the midweek long run felt so much harder than the similarly timed run last week. It could have been because I hadn’t eaten enough to push on and do the longer distance, or because I had only done very short runs for the remainder of the week. Sometimes that’s just how it is.

Worse was that jetlag just really killed the rest of my week. I had a long flight overnight and just couldn’t face the Friday morning run, which I bumped to Saturday. And on Sunday morning, I was too tempted to sleep in than get up and run (and I ended up sleeping in by an impressive 6 hours, so…).

So, I only managed two-thirds of the distance I intended this week, and I bottled the half-marathon. That’s a pretty disappointing week. This week, I’m going to try to take a different approach: streak running. Running every day, usually shorter distances, to help re-inforce regular running as a habit. I did this once before (I won’t tell you how long I lasted), and I did find it a useful shift of gear. I’m not sure it’s going to become a long-term thing, but let’s see how it goes:

Day Target Distance
 22 August  6.4km (with fartleks)
 23 August  5.0km (with drills)
 24 August  3.2km
 25 August 16.0km
 26 August  3.2km
 27 August  5.0km
 28 August  3.2km
 Total  42.2km

It means a pretty significant increase in the planned total distance, above the usually recommended 10%, but with only one long run, the hope is that it’ll focus me, rather than wear me out. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

